Stephanie’s Dish Newsletter
Dishing with Stephanie's Dish
Episode 44: Emily Maxson
0:00
-18:58

Episode 44: Emily Maxson

Cookbook Author of Emily’s Fresh Kitchen.

I have a chance to catch up with Emily Maxson from “Emily’s Fresh Kitchen.” The last time we spoke with Emily (March 2022 - Episode 30) her cookbook was just being released so I circled back to reconnect and also to offer an apology. Take a listen and order her cookbook here

NO-BAKE PEANUT BUTTER CRUNCH BARS

When my daughters came home from college during quarantine, I made a lot of treats. I think it was my way of trying to make their newfound circumstances more fun. Each week I put together a batch of peanut butter bars, experimenting with different ingredients. I would keep a pan in the refrigerator and we would all slice off pieces to nibble on throughout the day. If you just take little bite here and there and don’t take a full bar at once, you are eating less, right? 

This recipe is the version we all liked best. I love that they are gluten free and dairy free and sweetened with pure maple syrup. They remind me of Special K bars but are made with healthier ingredients. Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups natural peanut butter

3/4 cup pure maple syrup

1 cup puffed quinoa (I like nuts.com brand)

1 cup salted peanuts, chopped

1 1/2 cups dairy free chocolate chips or chopped dark chocolate

1/4 cup natural peanut butter

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Line a 9×9 pan with parchment paper.

  2. In a medium bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups peanut butter and the maple syrup.

  3. Add the the puffed quinoa and the chopped peanuts. Mix well.

  4. Spread the peanut butter mixture into the parchment lined pan and smooth.

  5. Add the chocolate chips or dark chocolate and 1/4 cup peanut butter to a bowl and melt in the microwave, or over a sauce pan filled with simmering water.

  6. Spread the melted chocolate mixture on top of the bars and smooth.

  7. Place in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours until set.

  8. Cut into bars and store in the refrigerator.

0 Comments
Stephanie’s Dish Newsletter
Dishing with Stephanie's Dish
I talk with Cookbook authors and Makers obsessed with food